I am, after all, cleverly disguised as a responsible adult.

Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.

Ra.One

Posted by shreyasvjoshi on November 2, 2011


“Tum har saal Raavan ko isiliye maarte ho, kyun ki tum jaante ho ki woh kabhi nahi marta. Jo marta hai usse baar baar maarna nahi padta.” Yes. The villain gets the best dialogue in the movie. The movie which has mostly been receiving wide-spread negative reviews all over. So much so, that it can be easily said that whatever positive SRK tried to do for this film with his Over-the-top publicity has backfired on him to a large extent. That too, by people persuading other people to not watch the movie, and form a negative impression on minds even before they have actually seen the movie.

The movie, predictably, revolves around the villain. Shekhar Subramaniam (SRK)’s son Prateek thinks villains are cool, so the doting father creates a game wherein the villain is more powerful than the hero. Artificial intelligence makes the villain (Random Access – Version One ~ Ra.One ~ “Raavan”) self – aware and he comes out in the real world to seek vengeance and kill Lucifer (Prateek’s gaming ID). Familiar much? Yes. The film borrows heavily from Terminator, Matrix, Iron Man and other sci – fi movies of Hollywood. Shekhar gets killed by Ra.one and the superhero (The Good One ~ G.One ~ “Jeevan”) is brought into the real world to defeat Ra.One. Long story short, as expected G.One triumphs over Ra.One.

The movie does have its moments, but we will come to that later. First of all, this is not an all-shining, all-praise review of Ra.One. My intention is just to try to be objective and mention the pros and cons of this movie, and if possible, to persuade you to form your own opinions as I do not want to enforce my judgement on you.

First of all, the cons. The movie has a very, very weak storyline as opposed to the expectations the publicity created. The initial start is very boring and as first impression is the last impression for many, Shekhar eating ‘curd and noodles’ by hand, Kareena’s acting with the abuses, and others aspects are a little irritating but gladly the story doesn’t linger on them for too long. The movie, also has a lot of logical flaws in it. Clearly, the script writers should have paid more attention to the movie. Too much burden has been placed on SRK’s shoulders to pull off a miracle. And Ra.One is very un-SRK in the purist sense. He doesn’t play the charming romantic, or the perfect young man. Instead he is a father who quotes some really nice quotes but not all are well received. The editing could’ve been a lot sharper. Priyanka Chopra and Sanjay Dutt’s cameo do not evoke the kind of laughter they would have expected to. In short, the emotional quotient of the movie is sometimes low. Too many genres have been tried to be done in a single time, and fails to appeal consistently.

Let me mention one detail. Shah Rukh Khan’s character name is Shekhar Subramanian so I assume he is a Hindu. Now when he is killed by Ra.One the funeral is done in Christian tradition, and the body of Shah Rukh is put into a Coffin. Cut to next scene: Karenna and the kid are shown holding his ashes in their hands. Now I believe if you bury someone in Coffin there shouldn’t be any ashes.

There might be many such faults and those occurred maybe due to the screenplay being written by four people. The script appears muddled. Some of the scenes are surely entertaining but when one goes to watch a SRK film, one hopes to be entertained throughout, and sadly Ra.One fails to do so. The oblique mentions to vulgarity, do not go down well most of the time with the Conservative Indian Society, although the same young people enjoy the incessant cuss words used by their Hollywood counterparts. (For me, “Iski Lee, Uski Lee, Sabki Lee” was quite hilarious.  🙂 but again, that’s me and my slapstick sense of humour.)

Now, to the good parts. The movie has its fair share of moments. And never before has any other film from the Indian Film Industry carried such an awesome audio – visual effects package throughout. I can positively say, that every penny spent for the effects was worth its weight in gold. For me, the film was on par with many of the better-rated Western Counterparts. Ra.One is the most ambitious, most expensive and the most technologically complex Hindi film ever made. It pushes the envelope further. It is a film that will rewrite the textbook of computer graphics in Hindi cinema. At the same time, it is very Indian at heart. SRK’s role as G.One sweetly reminds you of My Name is Khan. And the basic message comes through. No matter how the world perceives you, if you’re good at heart, then you can win and achieve anything.

You do feel bad when the caring father designs a game so that his son would consider him a “dude Dad” instead of a “coward”. And when G.One quotes Shekhar’s sentences, and the subsequent help they are to Prateek in defeating Ra.One only reaffirms the sense of Good Triumphs over Evil, in the end. Simple quotes like:

“Beta, ye yaad rakhna. Burai tumhe kitni bhi cool lage… Par burai, (thinking for a while), par burai ACCHI nahi hai.”

“‎1000 log har saal cigarette peena chod dete hai.” “Kaise?? Packet pe warning padhne se?”
“Nahi. Marne se.”

And many others make you smile in only the way SRK movies can make you smile.

Next, the audio-visual effects. Believe me, the destruction of Victoria Terminus station in Mumbai is awesomely done. Reminded me of the way the movie ‘2012’  destroys prominent places of the whole globe. The basic paradigm we need to change is that Indians can do it too.

We see “Batman: The Dark Knight” and we easily believe that what they show in the movie can happen in the real world. But we see “Ra.One”, especially against an Indian backdrop of scenery, it becomes difficult for us to accept it at its face value. Sure, Spider-Man can save a train from falling off the bridge, Superman can hold it in one hand, but G.One, sorry, no, SHAH RUKH KHAN, a living being we know is no more than a mortal, he does it in a movie, it doesn’t have the same awing, inspiring effect on all of us in general.

My advice to you if you decide that you’re brave enough to watch this movie, keep an open mind. Notice the flaws, but equally notice the good things. Appreciate what you feel should be appreciated. There are various other negative rumours about the movie, but I won’t even give them any importance by writing about that.

Why I connected with this film was for two non-filmy, personal reasons. One, I have been reading the Ramayana series written by Ashok Banker, which is amazingly awesome, and describes Rama as only a human being, who is only living by what he feels is right. There was an instant connect, as when the movie picks up pace, I remember one quote by Sage Vasishtha in the novel: “Every epic is in its core a tragedy with a happy ending.” Symbolically, Ra.One movie was like that for me. In no way are the two comparable, but Ramayana can be used as a reference frame. My heart goes out to SRK, because sadly this film lost its track and couldn’t capitalize on the huge potential it had to become an LARGER-THAN-LIFE movie. But he has started a trend. There has been a huge amount of work done by the VFx team and it deserves a huge applause. The London Chase scene is pure adrenaline. Second reason, I have always enjoyed the concept of superheroes. One person (Read Batman, not G.One) rises above the common people, holds on to a set of integral values, and wages a constant war for protecting the people. Somehow, he becomes a legend.

As to people saying Shah Rukh is no more the King of Bollywood, think again. The only actor I believe comparable to him is Aamir Khan. Recent movies of Salman Khan and Himesh Reshammiya demand exactly the same amount of intellect from its viewers.

So for me, Salman Khan, doesn’t even come into the equation.

I spent some time researching on Wikipedia, and trust me, there’s no alteration in these facts:

Aamir Khan (Last movie 3 Idiots – 2009)

Years : 1988 – 2011 = 23

Movies hit : 25/33 = 75.75%

In last 10 years : 7/9 = 77.8%

_____

As of Sept. 2011 (Not including Ra.One and Don 2)

Shah Rukh Khan (Last movie MNIK – 2010)

Years : 1992 – 2011 = 19

Movies hit : 38/53 = 71.7%

In last 10 years : 16/22 = 72.72%

If we consider Ra.One and Don 2 as hits, which they surely are, in the last 10 years, SRK has given 18 hits. While Aamir has given 7 hits.

These are the facts. I am not saying SRK’s movies are BETTER than Aamir’s. I am saying SRK has been working harder, and delivering more number of hits. I prefer genuine spontaneity to cold, calculated minds any time of the day. In 19 years, SRK will have given 40 hits. FORTY. While Aamir, in 23 years (4 more than SRK), will have given 25 hits by the end of 2011.

But then again, that’s my personal opinion.

I asked a few of the people whom I interacted with immediately after watching Ra.One, and what they said was equally true. I did not want this blog to be solely in one direction. So here is a review by my friend Devajeet Datta, two years senior to me. And what he says is another candid way of  reviewing the movie.

“ [sic]

This one was like one of those really expensive crackers you bought as a 12-year old and couldn’t just wait to see the fireworks, but were left cursing yourself when it turned out to be a dud. While Ra One does score in the special effects department, and has a decent plot, you just can’t resist cursing the scriptwriters 10 minutes into the movie.

There are parts where all common sense and logic are taken for a ride (‘Chammak Challo’ for your son’s birthday? Really??) and the humour fails to tickle your funny bone (It is especially frustrating when you are geared up for the proverbial good vs evil clash,and your hero catches fire on his genitals).

And if you are a gamer like myself, please take a moment to express your condolences to the poor guy who wanted to pull his company out of losses with a game having only 3 levels of one-on-one combat with only one playable character.  Overall, Ra One is just for the eyes, and you are advised to keep your ears and mind shut while watching this.

And finally, for those who believe that the flaws should be excused, keeping in mind that it is bollywood’s first Sci-Fi superhero movie, might I suggest taking another 3 hours off from your busy schedule and watching a little something called ‘Mr. India?’

Thus ends this review.

If you found this complete post interesting, you might also like to read my earlier posts:
July 2011 – https://jondoe297svj.wordpress.com/2011/07/11/experience-is-what-we-get-by-not-having-it-when-we-need-it/

May 2011 – https://jondoe297svj.wordpress.com/2011/05/03/few-things-i-learnt-in-vnit-and-from-life-in-general/

__

Bookmark: http://bit.ly/svjblog

Follow for regular updates.

Facebook page: SVJ’s Blog

99 Responses to “Ra.One”

  1. WELL DONE ! I am amazed after reading this ! I like the research you did on the movies ! AWESOME

    Like

  2. Merely a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding design .

    Like

  3. I’m really inspired along with your writing talents and also with the structure to your weblog. Is that this a paid subject matter or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to look a nice weblog like this one these days..

    Like

  4. I see something truly interesting about your site so I saved to fav.

    Like

  5. SaraDonna said

    where’d my earlier post go? nice site im jealous 😉 would you rent me a text/ banner ad for monthly fee ?

    Like

  6. it’s just what i had in mind.

    Like

  7. Dead composed subject matter, appreciate it for selective information .

    Like

  8. Just wanna comment on few general things, The website layout is perfect, the subject material is really great : D.

    Like

  9. I am not very excellent with English but I find this very easygoing to translate.

    Like

  10. I dugg some of you post as I thought they were invaluable very beneficial

    Like

  11. I like this post, enjoyed this one thanks for posting. “To the dull mind all nature is leaden. To the illumined mind the whole world sparkles with light.” by Ralph Waldo Emerson.

    Like

  12. I really like your writing style, great info, regards for posting :D. “Your central self is totally untouched By grief, confusion, desperation.” by Vernon Howard.

    Like

  13. I tend not to create a leave a response, however after reading through a great deal of remarks here Ra.One I am, after all, cleverly disguised as a responsible adult.. I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind. Is it only me or do a few of these responses look like they are left by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing at other social sites, I would like to keep up with you. Would you list of every one of all your shared sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    Like

    • 1. I don’t know about the people who are commenting. But I love appreciation! So I don’t mind. 😉

      2. Right now, I write only in this blog. You can search for me on twitter by my user name: iamsvj
      Facebook is my personal account, and Linkedin is professional so I only add people I know there.

      Thanks for the appreciation! 🙂
      Keep reading!

      Like

  14. Wohh precisely what I was searching for, thanks for posting.

    Like

  15. Someone essentially lend a hand to make critically articles I might state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and up to now? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular publish amazing. Fantastic job!

    Like

  16. Enjoyed reading through this, very good stuff, thankyou . “What the United States does best is to understand itself. What it does worst is understand others.” by Carlos Fuentes.

    Like

  17. I conceive this site holds some rattling excellent information for everyone. “There is nothing so disagreeable, that a patient mind cannot find some solace for it.” by Lucius Annaeus Seneca.

    Like

  18. This is a great website, might you be involved in doing an interview about just how you designed it? If so e-mail me!

    Like

  19. I do consider all of the ideas you’ve presented on your post. They’re very convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are very quick for beginners. Could you please lengthen them a little from next time? Thank you for the post.

    Like

  20. I think other web-site proprietors should take this site as an model, very clean and great user genial style and design, as well as the content. You are an expert in this topic!

    Like

  21. I have been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

    Like

  22. Perfectly pent content, Really enjoyed reading.

    Like

  23. Deusa said

    this blog is very informative. i am really impressed by the comments which people have given over here. i am sure many people will get more and more knowledge from this.http://www.casaemail.com.br

    Like

  24. Keep up the great work, I read few blog posts on this site and I think that your weblog is rattling interesting and has sets of great info.

    Like

  25. I do not drop a great deal of remarks, but i did some searching and wound up here Ra.One I am, after all, cleverly disguised as a responsible adult.. And I actually do have some questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be just me or does it look like some of the comments look like written by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional online social sites, I’d like to follow anything new you have to post. Would you make a list of every one of your community sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    Like

    • 😀 Hehe… I don’t know about the comments, generally I try to approve a lot less comments…

      But yeah, I guess you’re right.

      And no, I am not writing anywhere else.
      My facebook id is: facebook.com/shreyasvjoshi

      My twitter id is: twitter.com/iamsvj

      Otherwise, I only have a blog on this site currently…

      Like

  26. I just want to tell you that I’m newbie to blogging and site-building and seriously liked this web-site. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You certainly come with beneficial well written articles. Thanks a bunch for sharing with us your blog.

    Like

  27. Ogrodzenia said

    From: Ogrodzenia I’m a extended time in the past I read your blog and it has extended been saying that you’re an incredible writer

    Like

  28. Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

    Like

  29. Normally I don’t learn article on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice post.

    Like

  30. klik her said

    Wow…..

    I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thank you again! “Every time we remember to say thank you, we experience nothing less than heaven on earth.” by Sarah Ban B…

    Like

  31. Good – I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your website. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs and related info ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least. Quite unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, website theme . a tones way for your client to communicate. Excellent task.

    Like

  32. Great Stuff, do you currently have a bebo profile?

    Like

  33. Have you considered including several social bookmarking links to these sites. At the very least for facebook.

    Like

  34. needs said

    Just discovered this site thru Google, what a pleasant shock!

    Like

  35. Some truly nice and utilitarian information on this website, too I conceive the layout has great features.

    Like

  36. principles said

    This is a excellent web site, would you be interested in going through an interview regarding just how you designed it? If so e-mail myself!

    Like

  37. Heya this is a fantastic article. I’m going to transmit this to my associates. I stumbled on this although browsing by google I’ll ensue definite to extend in exchange. recognition for sharing.

    Like

  38. Hey, you used to write great, but the last several posts have been kinda boring… I miss your tremendous writings. Past few posts are just a little out of track! come on!

    Like

  39. Should i perhaps have advertised me on your facet wherever we’re able to. Alas, We’ve certainly no like ability, which means for the time being When i put up a street address to all the co-worker concentrating on the same obtain. Your site is value the item!

    Like

  40. I never observed a real cautiously seo’ed web site. It is the right off the bat. Subsequently, My spouse and i never ever observed consequently thoroughly created article. Thirdly, this results in my top picks and commence subscribers associated with site.

    Like

  41. You made some good points there. I looked on the internet for the subject matter and found most persons will approve with your website.

    Like

  42. tumbshots said

    Have you considered adding several social bookmarking buttons to these blogs. At least for myspace.

    Like

  43. I’m sure privileged to discover this type of well designed site. And moreover, superb article content. You’ll find it fantastic that you can also obtain this kind of pearls!

    Like

  44. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Feed is not working today. I tried including it to my Google reader account and got absolutely nothing.

    Like

  45. The right site with the details That i have ever witnessed! You may choose to genuinely end up being the preferred author via the internet! So you need!

    Like

  46. Hiya. Very cool trap site!! Guy .. First-rate .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and assume the feeds additionally…I’m pleased to attain so a large amount beneficial facts here inside the post. Thankfulness for sharing.

    Like

  47. Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is wonderful, let alone the content!

    Like

  48. Cassase said

    My spouse and i have been so joyful Raymond could deal with his research through the entire ideas he was given through your blog. It is now and again perplexing just to continually be giving for free concepts that many some others may have been selling. And we all acknowledge we have the website owner to give thanks to for this. The most important illustrations you made, the straightforward website navigation, the friendships you can make it possible to instill – it’s got mostly unbelievable, and it’s making our son in addition to our family reckon that the matter is cool, which is very pressing. Many thanks for all the pieces!

    Like

  49. Ford RoWy said

    Generally I don’t learn article on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, quite great article.

    Like

  50. you’re truly a good webmaster. The web site loading velocity is incredible. It kind of feels that you’re doing any distinctive trick. Also, The contents are masterwork. you have performed a wonderful process on this matter!

    Like

  51. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, superb site!

    Like

  52. Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely excellent. I actually like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a tremendous web site.

    Like

  53. I simply could not leave your site prior to suggesting that I extremely loved the standard information a person provide for your guests? Is going to be again regularly in order to inspect new posts

    Like

  54. Petramale said

    well said and written! Thanks so much

    Like

  55. https://hileservisi.com/blog/en-guvenli-ve-yeni-takipci-hileleri/

    Like

Leave a comment